eclecticism and audacity
Primavera Sounds has just announced their killer line-up

For the first time in Primavera Sound's history, there will be as many women as men in the artist lineup of 226. 

The festival released an official trailer titled The New Normal in which a narrator states, in part, “Remember? 2019 was the year when everything changed. Barriers fell. We won prejudices. After a long time, we opened our eyes. It seemed impossible, but the present finally went femenino!”

As she speaks, names of headliners appear on screens such as Solange, Cardi B, Future, J Balvin, Erykah Badu, Janelle Monáe, Robyn, FKA Twigs, Carly Rae Jepsen, James Blake, Charli XCX and more.

Other artists playing include but are not at all limited to Tame Impala, Nas, Lizzo, Pusha T, Sigrid, Interpol, and Liz Phair.

In a press release, Primavera addressed the history it was made by stating “we should have done it ages ago. … If half of our audience is female, why shouldn’t our lineup be so, too?”

In reference to the expansion of urban music in the lineup, Primavera organisers note that the presence of artists such as Cardi B, Nas, 070 Shake, Flohio, Sticky M.A., Yung Beef, Rico Nasty, SOMADAMANTINA and more “will make clear that it is impossible to look the other way and that through an urban vision we can understand everything from trap to reggaeton and everything that is still to come.”

If you want to bare witness to these groundbreaking initiatives, tickets are available now with full festival ticket prices remaining at 180€ and day tickets on sale until January 7th.

For more info just visit their website, here

Words by Megan Armstrong / Photography by Sergio Albert

Find Your
Closest Store

Use our store finder to locate your closest tmrw stockist.

Subscribe To Access Print Only Features

UK £64.95 / Europe £79.99 / ROW £89.99

Get our annual subscription now to access all printed only features.